Meet our Instructors

Mike Anderson

Emergency Medical Services

manderson@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 288

Alvin Bible

HVAC

abible@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 252

Hope Bell

Biomedical Sciences

hbell@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 270

ROBERT BRIONES

Digital Design

rbriones@central9.k12.in.us (317) 888-4401 EXT 233

Kerria Carter

Criminal Justice

kcarter@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 226

Jared Clark

Fire & Rescue

jclark@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 282

HEATHER Curry

Culinary Arts

hcurry@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 303

Kaylie Dowell

Medical Assistant

kdowell@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 236

Matt Edwards

Aviation Management

medwards@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 267

Daniel Fidler

Welding Technology

dfidler@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401

Jon Keen

Automotive Collision Repair

jkeen@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 258

Pat Lawton

Pre-Nursing

plawton@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 278

Carrie Lamb

Early Childhood Education

clamb@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 243

David Lucid

Criminal Justice

dlucid@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 284

BRAD MAGNESS

Digital Design

bmagness@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 227

BRIAN MENDENHALL

Culinary Arts

bmendenhall@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 223

Jeff Mullikin

Information Technology Operations

jmullikin@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 255

Steve Owen

Auto Services

sowen@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 251

Lisa Pfeiffer

Medical Assistant

lpfeiffer@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 293

James prince

Diesel Services

jprince@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 257

CHARLES ROBERTS

Landscaping

croberts@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401

Mark Rund

Exercise Science

mrund@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 232

Clint Smith

Culinary Arts

csmith@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 290

Jessica Smith

Veterinary Science

jsmith@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 228

John Stanley

Work-Based Learning

jstanley@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 240

Andrice Tucker

Auto Services

atucker@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 249

Jan Tunis

Dental Careers

jtunis@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 314

Paul Vonderwell

Cybersecurity

pvonderwell@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401

Frank Wormann

Construction Trades

fwormann@central9.k12.in.us (317) 888-4401 EXT 253

Gabriel Wright

Precision Machining

gwright@central9.k12.in.us (317) 888-4401

Meet our Student Services Department

Melanie Carpenter

Student Services Coordinator: Johnson County

mcarpenter1@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 231

Julie Deer

Administrative Assistant/ Attendance

jdeer@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 221

Joe Preda

Dean of Students

jpreda@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 235

Aubrei Teter

Career Pathways Counselor

ateter@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 294

Corinna Vonderwell

Student Services Coordinator: Marion County

cvonderwell@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 260

Meet our Staff Services Department

Michelle Augustine

CTE Innovation Coach

maugustine@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 295

Chandra Beers

Data Specialist

cbeers@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 224

Tiffany Bickerstaff

Marketing Manager

tbickerstaff@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 262

Jenny Caviness

ECA Treasurer

jcaviness@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 268

*WILLIAM KOVACH, PhD

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR​

wkovach@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 244

Teresa Overby

Payroll and Purchasing Specialist

toverby@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 271

*Cindy Payton

Business Manager

cpayton@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 239

*Mike Quaranta

Assistant Director

mquaranta@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 274

Laura Showalter

Benefits Coordinator

lshowalter@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 264

*Administration 

Meet our Integration Specialists and Resource Team

Amy Herbert

Resource Instructor

aherbert@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 277

Christina Todd

Resource Instructor

ctodd@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 245

Lynn Wilhelm

Math Integration

lwilhelm @central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 296

Shaun Martin

Academic Integration Specialist

smartin@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 234

Meet our Student Resource Officer

Caleb Elliott

School Resource Officer

celliott@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 276

Meet our Instructional Assistants

Barbara Basham

bbasham@central9.k12.in.us

image

Trudy Holtsclaw

tholtsclaw@central9.k12.in.us

image

Donna Owen

dowen@central9.k12.in.us

image

Donita Salter

dsalter@central9.k12.in.us

Kelly Seats

kseats@central9.k12.in.us

Lianne Smith

lsmith@central9.k12.in.us

Kaitlyn Van Atta

Kvanatta@central9.k12.in.us

Meet our Technology Department

Rob Taylor

Technology Coordinator

rtaylor@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 312

Image

Skip Roten

Technology Assistant

sroten@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 266

Meet our Facilities Management Department

John Showalter

Supervisor of Maintenance & Facilities

jshowalter@central9.k12.in.us
(317) 888-4401 EXT 241

Image

Jerry Overby

Facilities Assistant

joverby@central9.k12.in.us (317) 888-4401 EXT 241

Image

Adam Lucid

Facilities Assistant & IA

alucid@central9.k12.in.us (317) 888-4401 EXT 241

The early years

Early 1970

Nine School Corporations join forces to establish the first area vocational center for Johnson and Marion County. 

 

April 28th, 1970

A temporary Governing Board is established and Richard Thomas is elected as the first (temporary) president. 

The board makes a proposal for a Continuous Feasibility Study for an area vocational school. 

 

September 21, 1970

Board members review (and choose a site for campus). 

    

 

October 8th, 1970

Board members vote to name the center; Central Nine Vocational Technical School. 

Other names that were up for consideration: “John-Mar” (or “Johnson-Marion”), “Central Nine”, “Leatherwood”, and “whetzel Trace”. 

 

April 15th, 1971

Architect, Ray Thompson, from James Associates presents the final site and building plans for Central Nine. 

  

 

May 13th, 1971

James E. Hixson is made the first director of Central Nine.